top of page

5 Ingredients or Less: Italian Roll-Ups


Italian Roll-Ups

I often push the proverbial “kid-food” limits with what I feed Audrey.  Polenta with wild mushrooms, why not?  Smoked salmon scrambled eggs, absolutely.  Her appetite for all foods never ceases to amaze me.  But maybe that’s because I have it so ingrained in my head that kids only eat boring, bland foods.  If you read this blog, you know those are two words I definitely avoid.  If I can’t expose her to these flavorful and interesting foods now, won’t it be that much harder when she’s older?  So I often find myself thinking, would a child in Japan be eating this sushi?  Or given today’s recipe, would a child in Italy not already appreciate the sharp taste of provolone and the intense, smoky flavor of roasted red peppers?  The answer is yes.  Kids all over the world eat the foods accustomed to their country.  So there was no question that I would try out these simple yet flavorful roll-ups on Audrey.  She ate up every last bite and declared “Delicioso!”  Thank you, Dora The Explorer…..

Italian Roll-Ups

12 months + Up

Serves 4

  1. 1/3 cup roasted red peppers, drained well and patted dry

  2. 2 tablespoons mayo (I use the canola or extra-virgin olive oil variety)

  3. 8 slices provolone cheese

  4. 12 slices salami, thinly-sliced

  5. 4 whole-grain wraps (I use Damascus Flax Roll-Ups)

Combine roasted red peppers and mayo in a mini-food processor and blend until smooth.  If you do not have a mini-food processor or blender, simply chop the peppers as finely as you can and stir into mayo.

Layout 4 wraps, spread each one with a thin layer of red pepper mayo, 2 slices of cheese and 3 slices of salami.  Roll up tightly and cut into 1-inch bites.

* To learn how to make roasted red peppers from scratch, click here.


Audrey 2 pic Collage

bottom of page