top of page

Banana Yogurt Drink


Drinkable Yogurt for Baby/Kids.  My daughter always points it out when we’re at the grocery store and I totally get it.  What 3 year old wouldn’t want a sweet drink in a brightly colored package that often has cartoon characters on it?  But then I look at the ingredients and price and think to myself: I could make this at home for a fraction of the cost, with real ingredients and less sugar.  I hate to be all Debbie Downer, but these drinks often have added thickeners, corn syrup, and preservatives to keep them shelf-stable.  So a while back I experimented with making my own version.  Honestly, it couldn’t be easier.  Just use 2 parts yogurt, 1 part milk, 1 cup fruit of choice (fresh or frozen berries, bananas, peaches, etc…) and a pinch of sweetener, if you like.

If you’ve been wanting to make your own homemade drinkable yogurt with fewer ingredients and real fruit, then try this banana version (if you read my post last week, you know how much I love bananas). Both my toddler and 11-month old love it.  High in protein, calcium, and many of the minerals babies and kids need, it’s a great substitute for this store-bought favorite.

Banana Yogurt Drink

Serves: 2

Ingredients

  1. 1 cup plain full-fat yogurt (I use Greek)

  2. ½ cup whole milk

  3. 1 large banana, peeled and broken into pieces

  4. 1 tablespoon pure maple syrup, optional *

Instructions

  1. Add all ingredients to a blender and blend until smooth, about 30-60 seconds. Pour into airtight containers (I use mason jars) and chill for 30 minutes before serving.

Notes

* The maple syrup is optional depending on the type of yogurt you use. Omit if you are using flavored or sweetened yogurt.

3.3.3070

banana yogurt drink www.redkitchenette.com
bottom of page