top of page

Tahini Shrimp Buddha Bowl


Tahini Shrimp Buddha Bowls. One of my all-time favorite dinners and one of my weeknight go-to’s. Would my girls eat the same thing? Absolutely not, but they do eat a modified version of it.

We all know how it important it is to feed our kids well, but how often do you think about your own wellness? I hear from so many moms that they make themselves crazy over getting their kids to eat fruits and veggies, only to be exhausted by the end of the night, eating a bowl of cereal or scraps from their kids plate as their own dinner. I get it, I’ve been there. It’s hard. But we must take care of ourselves. And sometimes that means we eat something different from our kids.

This Tahini Shrimp Buddha Bowl is a perfect example. While I eat this, I will make the girls tacos made with some of the ingredients. I use the shrimp, avocado and cabbage as filling, plus a dollop of sour cream, shredded cheese or cut up mango. They key is to create elements of your meal that are kid-friendly as well. If I make a Bolognese, they have theirs over pasta, I have mine over spaghetti squash or zucchini noodles. It just takes a small amount of planning and preparation, but it is so worth it. I would love to hear your favorite ways to make yummy mom- and kid- friendly food!!

Tahini Shrimp Buddha Bowl

Ingredients

  1. Handful of baby spinach leaves

  2. Shredded purple cabbage

  3. Roasted sweet potatoes

  4. Sautéed shrimp

  5. Avocado

  6. Lemon-tahini dressing

Instructions

  1. Add all ingredients to a bowl and drizzle with tahini dressing.

  2. To roast sweet potatoes, place sliced potatoes on a baking sheet drizzled with evoo, salt and pepper. Roast in oven on 425 for 20 minutes.

  3. To saute shrimp, add evoo to a skillet over medium heat. Add seasoned shrimp (I just use salt and pepper) to pan and sauté 3-4 minutes.

  4. For lemon-tahini dressing, mix ¼ cup tahini with ⅓ cup water, juice of 1 lemon, and a pinch of salt. Whisk together until smooth and creamy.

3.3.3070

bottom of page