top of page

Kid-Friendly NYC Eateries: Hampton Chutney


photo-4

New York City is diverse, unique, magical, and everything I knew I wanted in my life after that first visit as a teenager.  At 22 I made it happen and it was one of the easiest decisions I’ve ever made.  Audrey on the other hand first laid eyes on this great city as she left the hospital at only 3 days old.  It is without question that she will grow up exposed to so much more than I ever was.  From people, to careers, to art and culture, she will see it all.  And you can’t forget the food.  Everywhere we look there is something new and different to try. Whether we walk a few blocks east to little Italy or a few blocks south to Chinatown, the options are endless.  The city is a playground for some of the best food in the world and it is my mission to expose Audrey to all of it.

One place we do this at is our local Hampton Chutney.  A small Indian cafe specializing in dosas – a  gluten-free crepe like sandwich that appears gigantic, but is surprisingly easy to finish.  There are over 15 different combinations for “adults” and 5 great kid options.  The best part?  They offer a variety of homemade chutneys to go with each dosa.  I’ve been taking Audrey there since she could first appreciate finger foods and she’s always excited when we walk in.  Her favorite combos are the cheese and egg dosa with tomato chutney, the chicken and cheese with cilantro chutney, and the turkey and cheese with mango chutney (shown below).  With locations in Amagansett (the original), Soho (only 1 large bench to sit with very young kids, otherwise there are many tall stools) and the Upper West Side (I’ve yet to go to this one, but I hear they have a kids reading nook located inside), this is definitely a place to visit with the kids – whether to stay and eat, as takeout, or every New Yorkers favorite, delivery!  And if you’re visiting NYC, I highly recommend adding lunch at Hampton Chutney to your itinerary.  Last piece of advice: pay the additional 50 cents for an extra chutney and let your kids explore which one they like best.


Hampton Chutney

bottom of page